Visas and Passports

Reciprocal abolition of passport requirements:

Denmark, Finland, Norway, and Sweden.

Reciprocal abolition of visa requirements (2-3 months stay):

Antigua and Barbuda, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, The Czech Republic, The Commonwealth of Dominica, Fiji, France, The Gambia, Germany, Great Britain (including: Bermuda, Turks- and Caicos Islands, Cayman Islands, Anguilla, Montserrat, British Virgin Islands, Saint Helena, The Holy See, Falkland Islands, Kiribati, Tuvalu, Brunei and Gibraltar), Greece, Grenada, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Republic of Korea, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, The Slovak Republic, Slovenina, Solomon Islands, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu.

According to Announcement of May 20, 1983, citizens of the following countries may enter Iceland as tourists using instead of passports the following identity cards, issued by the competent authorities in their country of origin:

Austria (Personalausweis), Belgium (Carte d’Identité, Identiteitskaart and Personalausweis), France (Carte Nationale d’Identité), Germany (Personalausweis, Kinderausweis and Behelfsmässiger Personalausweis), Italy (Carta d’Identita), Liechtenstein (Identitätskarte/Carte d’Identité/Carta d’Identita and Kinderausweis), Luxembourg (Carte d’Identité and Titre d’Itentité et de Voyage – Kinderausweis), The Netherlands (Identiteitskaart A, B and BJ), Switzerland (Carte d’Identité/Identitätkarte/Carta d’Identita).

Those who enter Iceland for working have to be able to present a valid work permit. Citizens of the Nordic- and EEA countries are exempted.

Photo Credit: Bumol


NAT and Must see in Iceland have handpicked the best tours in Iceland so you don't have to.